Summer Book Goals

Now that summer is almost halfway over, I have finally decided on what I want my summer book goal to be. My books are finally unpacked, so I’m able to see everything and I’ve decided I’m going to finish all of my “Currently Reading” books on Goodreads. Ideally, I’d love to read a few more than that, but I will take what I can get.

I’m also successfully reading two books at one time right now and I think I have figured out my secret for that, which is one fiction and one non-fiction. The non-fiction I read in the mornings and during the day and the fiction book I read at night to wind down. So far, it’s working pretty well.

So, here’s my list:

The Sister Queens by Sophie Perinot– This one is pure enjoyment, although I have learned a little bit of history while I’m at it. This book is set is the 1200s, which is a time period I am not very familiar with. I’ve enjoyed it so far and have a difficult time putting it down at night.

The Ragamuffin Gospel by Brennan Manning– This is one of those books I’ve been hearing about for years, but never actually picked up and read. Well, I’m sorry I’ve waited so long. I’m about halfway through and I have honestly underlined something on almost every single page. I am loving it.

Cold Tangerines by Shauna Niequist– I started this right before we moved and then got sucked into Divergent and then it got packed. So now it’s time to dig it out and finish it.

Their Eyes Were Watching God by Nora Zeale Hurston– One of those classics I never got around to reading. I had a hard time with the dialect, so I put this one aside. But now is the time to push through and git er done.

The Agony and The Ecstacy by Irving Berlin– This is based on the life of Michelangelo and I’m not sure why I stopped reading. Honestly, I think I was having a difficult time keeping the characters straight with their long, complicated names and just as I started to figure them all out, I put it down. That was dumb.

Paul: A Man of Grace and Grit by Charles Swindoll– We started reading this as a Sunday School book and we missed a few classes and I never finished it. As a SS book, I wouldn’t recommend it just because we all had a hard time discussing it, but I think I will enjoy just reading it.

So that’s my list. Any summer reading goals out there? What should I read next? I started listening to the Books on the Nightstand podcast and now I have added significantly to my Amazon wishlist. Too many books, too little time.

One Comment on “Summer Book Goals”

  1. […] last time I posted about books was my summer reading goal. Well, I failed. I got stuck on The Agony and The Ecstasy and then I finally decided that I needed […]


Leave a Reply

