Serving Together: Atlanta Community Food Bank

Last night, several people from our Sunday School class went down to the Atlanta Food Bank and sorted food for a few hours. Our class has done it before, but this was my first time. It was fun, relatively easy, and a great way to hang out and get to know each other more. There’s just something about serving together that bonds you. Plus, they play awesome music and the time passes really quickly. I just heard you don’t want to go on meat night.

1 in every 5 Georgians is food insecure and 1 in every 4 children is. That just stunned me. I just kept thinking how I have never actually been hungry and not been able to get food somehow. And the truth is, I probably never will be.

Less than 20 people working for about 2 hours ended up sorting 9,600 pounds of food equaling over 8,000 meals! I was amazed at that number!

After finishing at the food bank, most of us headed to Tacquiera del Sol for tacos and then Jeni’s for ice cream. I honestly haven’t laughed that hard in a long time. I’m so thankful for such a great group of people to serve the Lord with.

If you are looking for a place to serve with your group, I would highly recommend the Atlanta Food Bank!

One Comment on “Serving Together: Atlanta Community Food Bank”

  1. A JLA partner! And I’ve been on meat night. You are correct, they have lower standards than us for how much brown allowed on beef. Kind of gross but a great cause!


Leave a Reply

