Just a little life update

Monday night, Ryan and I went on a date. I used to make fun of married couples without kids who got excited about date night. Wasn’t every night date night? That is, until I became one. And realized it’s so nice to sit down at a restaurant, have someone bring you your dinner (and clean it up) and look at Ryan with no distractions.

I can’t believe I’m actually going to say this, but I am. I very much dislike following teachers on Pinterest this time of year. I have a lot of friends that are teachers and I love them all, but I just don’t really care how you’re going to teach math to 2nd grade this year. I feel like a terrible person.

Moving on. I’ve already started thinking about Christmas gifts for this year. It feels a little ridiculous because it’s so early, but I’m totally going to avoid last year’s catastrophe of gifts arriving at our door on Christmas Eve and being wrapped Christmas morning. By the way, Uncommon Goods and Cracker Barrel are awesome for unique gifts.

I’ve been trying for a month to read The Agony and The Ecstacy. Let’s just say it’s not going well. So I’ve decided to abandon it and move on to something else. I think I will come back to it one day because it’s interesting, however, it is insanely difficult for me to keep up with all of the different characters that come in and out of his life every other page. Plus, they all have long, similar names that make it extra confusing. So I started The Book Thief. I’m usually behind when it comes to books because I almost always buy them from Goodwill. I’m only into the first chapter, but so far, it’s pretty fascinating.

I think mosquitoes have been worse this year than any I remember in a long time. Granted, I’m outside a lot more lately between just having a backyard and Jolene, but I don’t ever remember mosquitoes in the mornings.

Robin Williams died on Monday. All of the tributes on Twitter made me a mess. It was amazing to think back to all of the movies he was in and the range he had. Hook will always be one of my favorite movies and I will always stop for a minute when Mrs. Doubtfire is on TV. So sad.

We really do have the sweetest puppy dog in the world. She is so good. It’s a good thing she has an eating problem, otherwise she might be perfect and we just don’t do perfect around here. The two humans took a nap on Sunday and before I fell asleep, I snapped this picture. She’s such a lover.

Speaking of pets, our fish, O.B. died the other week. We’re not exactly sure why because betas usually live a while, but one morning, I went into the kitchen and he had turned white. It was yucky and sad. I made Ryan flush him. I think he was sad because I moved him in the kitchen alone. But we’ll never know.

Gosh, I hate to end on a down note. There have been some sad things lately, but there have been some happy things, too. Erika and Matt brought home baby Millie last week! That might be the best thing I’ve heard in a long time. She is sweet and squishy and I’m so happy for all of them!

One Comment on “Just a little life update”

  1. Erika B. says:

    Awww thanks for your excitement!!! And I love your cuddly dog- so cute!!!


Leave a Reply

