Books, Books

Ryan asked me the other night when I was going to blog again and then I listened to Anne Bogel on the How They Blog podcast and she talked about how she treated blogging like a job- she had to do it whether she wanted to or not. And then I think Kat said that amateurs wait until they’re inspired, professionals sit down and do the work. So here I am, being all professional. Ha!

The last time I posted about books was my summer reading goal. Well, I failed. I got stuck on The Agony and The Ecstasy and then I finally decided that I needed to read because I liked it, not because I felt like I “had to.” One day, I may pick it up again, but until then, it will live on my Currently Reading list on Goodreads, mocking me.

I did get a few books on my list read, however, plus I’ve added a few since then.

The Sister Queens by Sophie Perinot– I’m a pretty big historical non-fiction/fiction fan, but honestly haven’t ventured out much past the Philippa Gregory House of Tudor era. So this about the Queen of England and the Queen of France who happened to be sisters was fun and different. It talked a lot about the Crusades, which made hair stand up on my politically correct neck. (Yes, I’m all for spreading Christianity, but I’m 1000% sure Jesus didn’t use brute force and we shouldn’t either.) It was also a little more sexually graphic that I usually enjoy, so there’s that, too.

The Ragamuffin Gospel by Brennan Manning– Um, please. If you haven’t read this (and if you enjoy Christian non-fiction) do yourself a favor and read this book. Absolutely life-changing look at grace and how we are all “ragamuffins.” Beautiful.

Cold Tangerines by Shauna Niequist- As a much as I LOVE her as a speaker, I just can’t get into her books. I guess I’m just not a short story person. Well, I just checked my Goodreads rating and I gave it 4 stars, but honestly, I don’t even remember it, so there we are. Oh, well.

After Cold Tangerines, I got stuck on TA&TE. Once I finally decided to move on, I jumped on the bandwagon and read The Book Thief by Markus Zusak like the rest of the planet. I heard nothing but good things, but I thought it was insanely slooooow. Like, good grief is anything EVER going to happen?? Finally, about 3/5 of the way through, the pace started to pick up but it’s a good thing I’m not a regular book abandoner. But it was an interesting look at Nazi Germany from the perspective of Germans that weren’t Jews and weren’t Nazis and where they fit into the mix.

Counterfeit Gods by Timothy Keller- Our Sunday School class read this book together and we all HIGHLY enjoyed it. And let me tell you, that is pretty rare. But we all found things in this book that we could relate to and that were convicting to us and it brought forth good discussions. We all have counterfeit gods in our lives, whether it’s relationships or power or money.

Insurgent by Veronica Roth– Shame on me for not having all of the books constantly at my disposal. I’m thinking this is when I need to join the library. I borrowed Divergent from Iz and Insurgent from Kylie and now I need to find someone to borrow Allegient from. These books aren’t amazingly well-written, but they are fast-paced and interesting, which is good enough for me. It’s about a post-apocalyptic world where we are divided up by our personalities to live peacefully.

The Nesting Place: It Doesn’t Have to be Perfect to be Beautiful by Myquillyn Smith– I have read The Nester’s blog for YEARS and was pretty excited to get my hands on her book. I definitely liked it, but since I am Type B+ and perfection is rarely a word that comes out of my mouth, I wasn’t exactly the target audience. But sometimes, we all need a kick in the pants.

The Language of Flowers by Vanessa Diffenbaugh– Rebecca loaned this one to me after The Book Thief and I LOVED it. The main character has aged out of the foster care system that she has been in her entire life. She’s had a difficult life and has brought some of it on herself, but she learns to love flowers and the meaning behind them and uses them to communicate. I read a lot about adoption and attachment issues, so this was so interesting to read through that lens and for sure gave me some things to think about.

Well that catches me up for now. I’ve done more reading than I thought. I’m currently SO CLOSE to being finished with Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn. It’s all I can do at night to put it down and not stay up until 1 finishing it. Though I may just do that tonight since it is Friday after all. Up after that is The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie by Alan Bradley. I first heard about it on the Books on the Nightstand podcast, then Jen Hatmaker listed it as one of her favorite books, and then I found it at Goodwill. Fate.

So that is my current reading list. It’s actually longer than I thought, which makes me happy. Also, the fact that it’s Friday.

(The one thing that is dampening my mood is Todd Gurley under investigation for selling his autograph. What the heck, buddy? Can we please get this resolved as quickly as possible?)

6 Comments on “Books, Books”

  1. Erika B. says:

    Oh, Ragamuffin Gospel is one of my all-time favorites. It makes me feel so peaceful every time I pick it up. And I loved Gone Girl (possibly the most polar opposite of Ragamuffing Gospel, hahaha) too!!!

  2. Heidi says:

    I had to abandon The Agony and the Ecstasy, too. I know so many people who list it among their favorite books, but I just couldn’t get into it. You’re not alone!

  3. dawnomite says:

    We’ve read a lot of the same books! I was also a little underwhelmed by Book Thief. And I love Brennan Manning. If you haven’t already read it, check out All Is Grace. It’s my favorite Manning book and one of my favorite books, period.

  4. Victoria says:

    I love your mix of books!!!

    I actually picked up Cold Tangerines this month (my first ever experience with anything Niequist) and really enjoyed reading it in bits and pieces. That’s the kind of book I need to own just so that I can pick it up when I feel like it rather than trying to read it all at once.

    I got hooked on Books on the Nightstand when Anne did a podcast post a while back! I love it and it’s played a big role in my reading lately. :)


Leave a Reply

