Looking Ahead to 2015

Every year, I make resolutions and every year I fail. Let’s look at last year’s.

1. Read a part of the Bible every day. (Unfortunately, I’m going to have to give myself a fail here.)

2. Spend 10-15 minutes every night picking up the apartment. Or at least don’t make it worse. (Bahahaha let’s not even go there.)

3. Have one date night a month. (I mean, we definitely ate out once a month, so that has to count, right?)

4. Invite someone over once a month. (I will say, this was a massive success. We probably averaged people over twice a month at least. I’m patting myself on the back here.)

5. Learn to curl my hair and make pie crust. (Hair, no. Maybe I can make a pie for Christmas and that can count.)

6. Get outside more. (I’ll say yes to this one. Of course, the house and Jolene helped with that for sure.)

7. Blog three times per week. (Yeah, no.)

So here we are at the end of 2014 and it’s time to look ahead for 2015. One of my new favorite blogs from this year, Hollywood Housewife, did monthly challenges instead of year-long resolutions and it seemed to work for her. And that’s kind of what I will be doing this year. Except I’m taking it a step further.

Two of the girls in our Sunday School class and I are doing “7.” Yes, Jen Hatmaker’s 7. Where for a month we eat 7 foods, only spend money at 7 places, get rid of all of our stuff, stop watching TV and scrolling Instagram, the whole she-bang. Each one will take a month (we are combining possessions and spending) with a week long break between to reset and prepare for the next one. So that is my only big resolution for the year. I think it’s enough. I just found out this week that I’ll be traveling for work the first week of the year and that’s when we are doing the “food” challenge. So yeah, that’s going to be super difficult. But the point of this is not for it to be easy.

However, I’m also declaring 2015 as my year of the “Long Book.” Basically, all of the long books on my shelves that I’ve been putting off will be read. So far, I have Gone With The Wind, Scarlett, Lonesome Dove, and the Rea book (a book about my family). Obviously, I’m going to be reading a lot more than just those, but that is my reading goal for the year. But I’m diving in with those over the course of the year.

Of course, Beth Moore is also doing her Siesta Memory Scripture this year and I’m thinking of doing that also. I tried a few years ago, but had a difficult time keeping up with entering my verses each week. But I’m going to try again and see if I can’t do better.

So that’s what I’ve got for 2015. Along with the usual- life, work, fun, etc. This will be the first year that I’m not working every Saturday and now football season is over. I’m excited and interested to see what it will be like to spend so much time with Ryan and just be able to have an active weekend social life. It’ll be good.

 

 

Leave a Reply

