I Like to Read

Sheesh. It’s been a while since I’ve updated my book list. So here goes.

Gone Girl by Jillian Flynn– Obviously by now, most people have read this book or seen the movie. The story of a missing woman and did her husband kill her. Love the twists and the mysteries, but agree with Mama that there weren’t any likable characters. And Ryan (we watched the movie) hated the ambiguous ending but that was part of what I found intriguing.

Allegiant by Veronica Roth– The final book in the Divergent series, I found some of the story lines died out with no real resolution. The ending made me sad, but I definitely liked it better than the end of the Hunger Games series.

The Maze Runner by James Dashner– Rebecca loaned this to me as she couldn’t decide if she liked it or not. The story of a boy who is dropped in the middle of a large maze with a group of other boys and they are trying to get out. I think I would have liked it more had I not just read several other dystopian series. I didn’t hate it, but I didn’t like it enough to want to see what happened next.

The House at Riverton by Kate Morton– I have read two others by Morton, even though this is her first book. They all are somewhat slow to me at the beginning, but this one was the slowest of all. I couldn’t make myself care for the characters until the very end. Skip this one, read The Forgotten Garden or The Distant Hours.

The Red Tent by Anita Diamant– When I posted this book on Instagram, several people told me how much they loved this book so I had really high hopes for it. Which it definitely lived up to. It’s the story of Jacob and his wives and his one daughter. For me, it was great from an entertainment standpoint, but I couldn’t take the Biblical interpretation to literally, otherwise it would have driven me crazy.

The Simple Faith of Mister Rogers by Amy Hollingworth– Amy became friends with Fred Rogers and this is the story of their friendship, mostly through written correspondence. I enjoyed this book, but it was a little long as far as the subject matter for me and it seemed a little worship-y. But it definitely made me want to watch old episodes of Mr. Rogers.

Home is Where My People Are by Sophie Hudson– I love BooMama’s blog and this book was a story of her friendships throughout her life. I liked it and flew through it, but I have to admit I liked her first book better.

Animal, Vegetable, Miracle by Barbara Kingsolver– During my 7, I’m trying to read some of the books that Jen Hatmaker references and recommends. This is the only one I got to during the food portion, but I very much enjoyed it. The Kingsolver family resolves for a year to either grow their own food or eat food where they know it came from. I loved their mission, but it’s not something I could apply to my own life. However, I do want to make more of an effort to buying local and small farm. The book itself was good and entertaining, but some of the information, especially in the first few chapters, was a little dense.

The Irresistible Revolution by Shane Claiborne– Listen, don’t read this book unless you are prepared to have your toes stepped on and be a little uncomfortable. But I like that because that’s when I am stretched and challenged. I liked this book a lot, even though I didn’t 100% agree with his politics. This was mostly autobiographical and told about his life and his friends and how they strive to love at all costs- protesting the death penalty and friending those on death row, going into Iraq during the middle of the Iraq war to meet with people, living communally in the inner city, etc. I’m a fan.

I’m currently trying to finish Low Country by Anne Rivers Siddon. It’s been in limbo for a while now because I’m terrible at reading two books at once. Then I’ve got Covering Home by Heidi McCahan, Consumed by Benjamin R. Barber, and Serve God Save the Planet by J. Matthew Sleeth. Fortunately, we’ve got some plane rides and long car rides coming up.

Leave a Reply

