I want to buy stuff…

This month of our “7” has been spending and possessions. We decided to combine the two. Truthfully, I’m not at a place where I feel like we have so much stuff to get rid of, but there is some that still needs to be cleaned out and donated. But I have loved (not sure that’s the right word…) the no-spending challenge. There have been many moments where I’ve thought it would be so easy to just drive through CFA, but I perservered and came home and made a can of soup or a sandwich. And I feel so much better about it.

I spend so much money on convenience, when it’s not that much more difficult to cook something or make a sandwich. As Kate, one of the girls I’m doing this with, said, it’s made me so much mindful of what I’m buying.

But I still have a list of things I want to buy when this is all over with. And most of it comes from Boden. My friend Michelle is getting married in May and I think I need some stuff for that.

I’m in love with this gray-purple. My new neutral.

I also think these are so cute and fun.

I also have several things I want to do around the house. We are hosting our Sunday School class in April, so I have several things I want to do before then. Not because I think anyone will care but because I need a deadline. I have some art that needs to be framed, I want to have our dining chairs and chairs in our living room recovered and curtains made. I also have a chandelier that needs to be replaced.

And now I’ve decided I want to change the doorknobs in our house.

And I want new house numbers.

And some fake lemons for my trifle bowl. These are from Dollar Tree. Is $1 a lemon a reasonable price? I’m trying to decide. You have to buy 36, which I could probably use that many. But spending $40 on fake lemons seems kinda crazy.

Let’s just add to the list.

I’m having a difficult time reconciling what we want to buy and spend on ourselves versus what we should give. We are wealthy and it matters. I guess the questions is what are we going to do about it?

If a man shuts his ear to the cry of the poor, he too will cry out and not be answered. Proverbs 13:21

 

Leave a Reply

