More Books

My book reading has been a bit slow lately. I’m trying not to feel too much guilt over not constantly reading and finishing books. Looking back, I’ve actually read more than I thought I had, so that’s always a plus.

Low Country by Anne Rivers Siddon– This is an author whose name I’ve heard over and over, so I grabbed this one from Goodwill. It was a like, but not love. Caroline owns part of an island that the Gullah have lived on for years and she learns that to save her husband’s business, he will need to develop the island. I probably won’t re-read this book, but I would definitely read more by Siddon.

Covering Home by Heidi McCahan,- Admittedly, I’m slightly biased because I know the author, but I loved this book set in Japan about a high profile baseball player and a reporter trying to get the scoop. Their story of togetherness was sweet and a page turner. I’m a sucker for happy endings.

Serve God, Save The Planet by J. Matthew Sleeth- I read this as part of our possessions/spending month of Seven. It was okay, but really, some of the things he talked about were just too extreme to be practical for my life.

The Queen’s Fool by Philippa Gregory– Typical Philippa Gregory formula. I did like that this one focused a little more on Queen Mary than strictly QEI or the Boleyns. Not my favorite, but didn’t hate it either. How’s that for a review?

The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky– In all truth, I picked this one next because it was short. The year of a boy in high school and the friends he makes. It definitely took on a different, darker turn than I was expecting, but I enjoyed it.

Wonder by R.J. Palacio- Without a doubt, the best book I’ve read this year. Auggie is a boy with severe facial deformities who has been home schooled through 4th grade because of the number of surgeries he’s endured. He enters a small-ish private school for 5th grade and this is the story of his first year of school, dealing with making new friends, betrayals, and bullies. It’s told from the point of view of Auggie, two of his friends, his older sister, his sister’s boyfriend and sister’s oldest friend. It is definitely written for middle-school aged, so the prose isn’t anything ground-breaking, but it is a beautiful story that had me crying several different times- happy and sad tears. I would recommend this book to anyone.

The Paris Wife by Paula McClain– Everyone was raving about this book several years ago, but I’m honestly not sure why. It’s about Ernest Hemingway’s first marriage and gosh it was so slow. I thought about abandoning it, but eventually, I was invested in the characters. I never thought I would get through it, though.

Next up for me is Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte. Laura at Hollywood Housewife is going a Read Great Books Challenge and book club this year. I missed the first two and so I’m hoping to join in to this next one. However, I better get to reading because it’s not a short book! I’m also hoping to go back and read Frankenstein. After that, I’m not sure. Big Mama’s new book, Nobody’s Cuter Than You, is coming out soon and of course I’ll be reading it. I also bought Daring Greatly by Brene Brown because every blogger I read has recommended it, so it’s on my TBR pile as well. However, I haven’t even begun my “long book challenge,” so I need to begin that sooner or later….

So many books, so little time.

Leave a Reply

