Scripture Memory Verse Week 7

Eeks. It appears I haven’t been posting these like I thought. But I have still been doing them. Anyway…

A little backstory. It’s rare for me to know what scripture I’m going to use before it’s time to post these. I thought I was going to use one from Lamentations a few days ago, but it never felt right. Well, a few days late, but yesterday, Sarah Bessey posted this verse on her Instagram and I instantly had to look it up and read it. (I just realized she wrote about it much more eloquently that I will ever be able to on her blog. So go check that out.)

It’s from John 13 and I’m not entirely sure what it was, but I started crying, sitting in my car reading that chapter. Verse 1 speaks of his love for us to the end. The very next sentence says that the devil had already prompted Judas to betray him. Through betrayal, desertion, denial, and doubt, he loved us to the end.

Verse 3 says “Jesus knew that the Father had put all things under his power, and that he had come from God and was returning to God.” So what did Jesus do? He took off his coat, put on an apron and started washing his disciples feet. His love for us and his humility astound me. How I long to love as he loves me.

It was just before the Passover Festival. Jesus knew that the hour had come for him to leave this world and go to the Father. Having loved his own who were in the world, he loved them to the end. John 13:1


One Comment on “Scripture Memory Verse Week 7”

  1. Mom says:

    You are WAAAAY behind on your blog!!!!!!!!!


Leave a comment